Skip to content

Managing user sessions

When you log in, Zenoss Cloud sets a cookie representing your session on your browser. During a session you can use any number of browser tabs for Zenoss Cloud pages.

Users with the Manager role can configure how long sessions are valid and how many sessions a user can have. To customize user session settings, navigate to ADMIN > Session Settings.

Here are the settings on the page:

Idle timeout

The length of time before an inactive user session expires. The default is 30 minutes; the options are 1-60 minutes or 2, 4, or 8 hours.

User sessions can exceed the idle timeout setting when at least one browser tab is open to a page that supports automatic refresh, such as a dashboard page, and the refresh feature is enabled, and the refresh interval is shorter than the idle timeout setting. In this case, the force relogin setting limits the session.

Force relogin after

The length of time before a user has to update a session. The default is 48 hours (2 days); the range is 1–168 hours (7 days).

Limit number of sessions a user can have

The maximum number of active sessions a user can have at the same time. The default is to allow an unlimited number of sessions. When this option is enabled, the range is 1–10 sessions.

Tips

  • A user session is one unique combination of user, browser and device.
  • User session settings apply to all users in your organization.
  • Fully propagating changes to user session settings may take up to 60 minutes.
  • Zenoss API clients are not affected by user session settings.
  • Users can delete their own sessions (next section).

Deleting your own user sessions

Use this procedure to delete one or more of your own user sessions.

  1. In Zenoss Cloud, click on your user name, in the upper-right corner of the screen.

  2. Click Account Settings, and then click Sessions.

    The row with this session in the ACTIVE column represents the session you are using to display the page, which cannot be deleted.

  3. Display the delete control (the trash can icon) by placing the cursor over the row to delete.

  4. Click the trash can.

  5. Click END SESSION.